Aksyonov: transition period difficulties in Crimea are incomparable with situation in Donbass


Difficulties of the transition period in the Crimea are incomparable with the situation in Donbass, said the Head of the Crimea Sergey Aksyonov during the festive teleconference Moscow - Simferopol.

“After a year, we realize that all the difficulties we had are really incomparable with what is happening in Donbass. In peace time people die for protecting their interests, for defending their right to speak their native language and live on the territory where they will determine the economic structure, laws which will function in the Donetsk and Luhansk People’s Republics,” said Aksyonov.

The Head of the Republic also thanked the Russian Armed Forces, which provided security during the referendum. “Security is provided, of course, by the Armed Forces of the Russian Federation. Thanks to the interaction with the Crimean militia men we managed to pass this stage calmly and peacefully. It’s worth it,” he added.

How the Crimea returned to Russia

On March 16, 2014 in the Crimea and Sevastopol was held a referendum on self-determination, which resulted in the peninsula’s annexation to Russia. The voting ballots contained two questions: “Are you for the annexation of the Crimea to Russia on the rights of subjects of the Russian Federation?” and “Are you for the restoration of the Constitution of the Republic of the Crimea of 1992 and for the status of the Crimea as part of Ukraine?” The first option was supported by 97 % of voters in the Crimea and 95.6 % of voters in Sevastopol.

The next day on the basis of the referendum results the Republic Parliament proclaimed the Crimea an independent sovereign state. On March 18, the Kremlin signed an intergovernmental agreement on the annexation of the Republic of the Crimea and Sevastopol to Russia. On March 19, the agreement was declared constitutional by the Constitutional Court of the Russian Federation. On March 20, the State Duma ratified the document, and on March 21, it was ratified by the Russian Federation Council.

Text and pictures by TASS